By Pelu Awofeso The marathon runner David Adjarho Obaro (aka World Wrapperman) will be back in Lagos on Friday 12 June 2015, aboard an Aero flight at 10 am. This journey will mark his triumphant return to the ‘Centre of Excellence’ after about 40 days away. On landing at the MMA2, the wrapperman will proceed on a symbolic run from the airport through Mobolaji Bank-Anthony Way and Ikorodu Road to Surulere, terminating the run at ‘GRILL IT’ berbecue point on 14 Adenuga Str (near Bakery bus-stop, and behind Rita Lori Hotel, Williams Estate).

World Wrapperman at the Unity Fountain, Abuja
World Wrapperman at the Unity Fountain, Abuja
World Wrapperman at the Milinnium Park, Abuja
World Wrapperman at the Milennium Park, Abuja

The wrapperman will stop en route to take photographs with Lagosian and honour media interviews. “I consider my successful run to Abuja to be a significant victory of faith over fear, of determination over detractors,” he says in a chat with the media in Abuja. “People thought I couldn’t do it, they doubted my aim but I went ahead and accomplished the journey in 22 gruelling days, with blistered and swollen feet .” You will recall that Mr Obaro, 46, ran and walked from Lagos through Okpekpe (Edo State) to Abuja between 6th May and 27 May to raise funds for charity and awareness for the wrapper-marathon, which he plan to introduce in Nigeria.

“This walk started as one for #charity, but it became spiritual along the way,” he told me during our chat, which held in the #Wuse 2 area. “I heard God speak to me most of the time I was running and I fought spiritual battles too. if anything, I now have a better understanding of who I am and where I need to go. The vision is clearer now, and I am thankful to God for the experience.”

World Wrapperman at the Voice of Nigeria (VON), Abuja
World Wrapperman at the Voice of Nigeria (VON), Abuja
World Wrapperman at the WE FM, Abuja
World Wrapperman at the WE FM, Abuja

While in Abuja, he has been the subject of a series of media interviews (please see some photos attached), cutting across the print and the electronic media. “I am deeply appreciative of the media houses who either invited me to their studios and offices or assigned journalists to interview me away from their operational premises,” Obaro says, dressed in his Uhrobo traditional costume. “They have given me several doses of inspiration and I will be forever grateful for their support of this cause.” The next phase of this project is a fund-raising dinner for the charitable causes Mr Obaro has run for, and it is tentatively planned for the first-half of September 2015. The wrapperman can be reached on his mobile for inquiries and other details on 0809 181 7239.

