Heba Amin
Heba Amin

My artwork addresses themes related to urbanism and technology and investigates the impact of infrastructure on the human psyche through junctures, glitches and flawed memory. I work with various media and am particularly interested in portraying the impact of our built environment and technological progress on mobility, movement and our collective emotional state.

As landscapes change, as cities get more and more connected via technology and as our politics become intertwined, this road trip represents, for me, a much needed dialogue and exchange about the failures of globalization. To move through the “borders” of Africa and Europe is to face the demarcations of contemporary bureaucracies. I am very excited to embark on the adventure and physicality of a 5-month road trip. While the experience will surely test my limits, I am interested in how the trip will allow me to personally confront the serious political and social issues of borders and migration and the ways in which we are all affected by these topics.

PS: To read more about the Invisible Borders 22-country adventure/ road trip, visit http://www.invisible-borders.com/blog

